DaemonDaemon (Daemon, #1) by Daniel Suarez
on January 8th 2009
Pages: 432
Goodreads
My Rating: five-stars

Technology controls almost everything in our modern-day world, from remote entry on our cars to access to our homes, from the flight controls of our airplanes to the movements of the entire world economy. Thousands of autonomous computer programs, or daemons, make our networked world possible, running constantly in the background of our lives, trafficking e-mail, transferring money, and monitoring power grids. For the most part, daemons are benign, but the same can't always be said for the people who design them.
Matthew Sobol was a legendary computer game designer—the architect behind half-a-dozen popular online games. His premature death depressed both gamers and his company's stock price. But Sobol's fans aren't the only ones to note his passing. When his obituary is posted online, a previously dormant daemon activates, initiating a chain of events intended to unravel the fabric of our hyper-efficient, interconnected world. With Sobol's secrets buried along with him, and as new layers of his daemon are unleashed at every turn, it's up to an unlikely alliance to decipher his intricate plans and wrest the world from the grasp of a nameless, faceless enemy—or learn to live in a society in which we are no longer in control. . . .
Computer technology expert Daniel Suarez blends haunting high-tech realism with gripping suspense in an authentic, complex thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton, Neal Stephenson, and William Gibson.

I started this book about six times and each time put it down. It’s not that I was dis-interested in the book or it was bad, but I really wanted to enjoy it and have the brain space to dedicate to enjoying the book.

Now that I’ve finished it I’m glad I waited until I could focus on it!

I enjoy the type of thrillers and after getting a footing in the world after the main characters were introduced I really enjoyed how the multiple plot lines unfolded then intertwined.

** Spoilers ahead you’ve been warned **

I enjoy sci-fi for its visions of the future, of “what could be”, even if those visions aren’t pretty. Daemon takes very recent and future possible tech and uses it to weave it’s story. A friend called it “WOW in the real world” and it felt like it. The book came out in 2009 and some of the tech that would have seemed like a moon-shot back then now seems almost inevitable only eight years later. Specifically, the armada of self-driving cars that is used by the Daeomon to attack the government compound and protect Brian Gragg at the end of the book is probably possible today.

What doesn’t seem possible today is character Jon Ross’s ability to stay anonymous and hide his identity from government agencies.

This was book number 42 of 52 for 2017.

Posted by Daniel Espinoza

I'm a digital tentmaker, web developer, a native Texan, avid reader, and a wanna be polyglot. Follow Daniel on Twitter @d_espi or on Google+

Get a weekly digest of posts

* indicates required

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *